



Call for Expressions of Interest: Discovery Early Career Researcher Award Applications in Cultural and Social Research

The Institute for Culture and Society

The Institute for Culture and Society (ICS) at Western Sydney University (WSU) was launched in 2012. The Institute is internationally recognised for its intellectual leadership and for pursuing a highly forward-thinking intellectual agenda in social and cultural research in key areas such as urban studies, digital media, globalization, cultural diversity, community economies, critical heritage studies, environmental humanities and social change.

With the continuation of the Australian Research Council's Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA) scheme in 2019 (see: http://www.arc.gov.au/discovery-early-career-researcher-award), ICS is investing in leading cultural and social researchers from Australia and overseas by supporting innovative and outstanding DECRA proposals from applicants who will be **up to 5 years post-PhD** at March 2019.

The objectives of the DECRA scheme are to:

- support excellent basic and applied research by early career researchers
- advance promising early career researchers and promote enhanced opportunities for diverse career pathways
- enable research and research training in high quality and supportive environments
- expand Australia's knowledge base and research capability
- enhance the scale and focus of research in the Science and Research Priorities

Funding

A DECRA recipient may be awarded ARC funding of up to \$140,858 per year of funding. The per annum salary contribution from the ARC is fixed at \$100,858 (2017\$), including 30% on-costs, and up to a maximum of \$40,000 project costs. Salary and/or project costs will not be awarded separately.

Funding for a DECRA Project will commence effective 1 January 2020, unless other arrangements are approved by the ARC.





Institute for Culture and Society

ICS Research Program

ICS's integrated research program involves critically inventive work, spearheading collaboration within and beyond the academy and connecting Australian cultural and social research to relevant research in Asia, Europe, North and South America: The research program is currently organised into four program areas:

<u>Cities and Economies</u> <u>Diversity and Globalization</u> <u>Digital Life</u> Heritage and Environment

ICS Research and Researchers

ICS researchers conduct applied and interdisciplinary research producing cutting-edge work with impact in and across the fields of cultural studies, cultural and human geography, media studies, sociology, anthropology, environmental humanities, cultural economy, science and technology studies, urban studies, Asian studies, education, digital humanities, software studies, and museum and critical heritage studies.

Expressions of Interest

ICS will offer expert assistance to DECRA applications where these fit closely with one or more aspects of its research program. Please consult the Institute's website (http://westernsydney.edu.au/ics) for further details of the Institute's research program.

To be considered eligible candidates should:

Hold a PhD awarded in up to 5 years prior to March 2019 Have a strong and extensive track record of publications and research impact Be working in a field closely related to one or more of ICS' research programs

Please note that applicants seeking the endorsement of ICS need to **submit a CV** in the first instance to <u>icsro@westernsydney.edu.au</u> by **9am Australian Eastern Standard Time** on **Friday 1 June 2018.** Candidates with competitive track records will then be invited to submit an Expression of Interest. Please note that EOIs will be due by **9am Australian Eastern Standard Time** on **13 August, 2018,** so please register your interest as soon as possible.

Prospective applicants with further questions may contact Dr Flora Zhong at icsro@westernsydney.edu.au





Institute for Culture and Society

Academic staff in the Institute include:

Professor Paul James (Director)

A/Professor Juan Salazar (Research Director)

Distinguished Professor Ien Ang Emeritus Professor Bob Hodge Emeritus Professor David Rowe Emeritus Professor Tim Rowse

Professor Kay Anderson Professor James Arvanitakis Professor Tony Bennett Professor Katherine Gibson Professor Gay Hawkins Professor Dick Hobbs Professor Karen Malone Professor Donald McNeill Professor Brett Neilson Professor Greg Noble Professor Ned Rossiter

Professor Margaret Somerville Professor Deborah Stevenson A/Professor Robyn Bushell A/Professor Hart Cohen A/Professor Alana Lentin A/Professor Amanda Third A/Professor Megan Watkins A/Professor Emma Waterton A/Professor George Morgan

Dr Sarah Barns Dr Brett Bennett Dr Kylie Budge Dr Denis Byrne Dr Fiona Cameron Dr Kiu-wai Chu
Dr Philippa Collin
Dr Louise Crabtree
Dr Ann Dadich
Dr Ben Dibley
Dr Rae Dufty-Jones
Dr Youqing Fan
Dr Nichole Georgeou
Dr Sheree Gregory
Dr Stephen Healy
Dr Kate Huppatz
Dr Jorge Knijnik
Dr Abby Mellick Lopes

Dr Liam Magee
Dr Tanya Notley
Dr Bonnie Pang
Dr Keith Parry
Dr Anna Pertierra
Dr Emma Power
Dr Xiang (Tony) Ren
Dr Shanthi Robertson
Dr Hayley Saul
Dr Karen Soldatic
Dr Malini Sur
Dr Teresa Swist

Dr Camellia Webb-Gannon Dr Jessica Weir

Dr Jessica Weir Dr Alexandra Wong